The City of Owen Sound is pleased to announce the 2022 Volunteer Award Recipients. Mayor Ian Boddy and Councillor Travis Dodd on behalf of Owen Sound City Council, along with MPP Rick Byers, presented the awards at the beginning of this evening’s Council meeting.

The recipients are:  2022 Volunteer of the Year – Elizabeth Charlton (right) and 2022 Senior of the Year – Sharon McKeachnie (left)

Ms. Elizabeth Charlton was nominated by East Ridge Community School for her significant contribution to the breakfast club program where she works more than 40 volunteer hours each week. Other contributions at the school include pizza and sub programs, spring carnival, book fairs, craft shows and other extra-curricular activities.

“Mrs. Charlton has devoted her life to enriching the Owen Sound Community. She has touched the lives of thousands of people on many levels from the basic human need of feeding the hungry to encouraging those around her. She has a cheery, welcoming manner that inspires and brings out the best is us all”.

Ms. McKeachnie was nominated jointly by her peers at Owen Sound Minor Lacrosse and Owen Sound Sr B. Lacrosse for her work in the Owen Sound sports community.

An inductee into the Owen Sound Sports Hall of Fame, Ms. McKeachnie is described by her peers as “a pillar in the Owen Sound lacrosse community” where she has held a number of positions including current President of Owen Sound Minor Lacrosse, and board member of the Owen Sound Sr. B Northstars.

source: media release, City of Owen Sound





CopyRight ©2015, ©2016, ©2017 of Hub Content
is held by content creators