Ottawa/Queen's Park



ndp banner

The Bruce-Grey-Owen Sound Provincial and Federal NDP Riding Associations held their joint 2016 Annual General Meeting in Owen Sound on the evening of April 15, 2016.

Canadian journalist Michael Valpy gave a keynote address, speaking on the ethics of the media in political reporting and on the direction of the New Democratic Party after its Edmonton convention. In short, he said, the NDP remains the only political party in Canada that can formulate an alternative to the neo-liberal agenda of the Liberals and Conservatives.

Members present agreed that the BGOS Riding Association would continue to work on issues of concern tothe people in this riding, principally, the need for a living wage, economic development, affordable housing and reconciliation with First Nations.

President Michael McLuhan says the new Executive is reflective of the demographics of the Riding.

President: Michael McLuhan

Vice President (provincial): Michael Johnston

Vice President (federal): MaryAnn Wilhelm

Treasurer: Hugh Evans

Secretary & Membership: Karen Gventer

Youth Rep: Dawnais Wilhelm

Women's Rep: Colleen Purdon

Aboriginal Rep: Rachel Mason

Disability Rep: Ray Whitfield

Labour Council Rep: David McLaren

Provincial Council Rep: Gord Lawson

Provincial Council Rep: MaryAnn Wilhelm

Provincial Council Rep (alternate): Karen Gventer

Members at Large: Beverly Morley, Katherine Mann, Diane Owen, Ivan Smith, Marie Mason

source: media release, BGOS NDP


CopyRight ©2015, ©2016, ©2017 of Hub Content
is held by content creators